Adobe Photography Program – purchase experience

Adobe’s Photography Program is now live at https://creative.adobe.com/plans/offer/photoshop+lightroom?sdid=KIHZP. Interestingly, it is now being touted as the Photoshop Photography Program.Adobe Photography Program offer

Anyone who owns a copy of Photoshop CS3 or later can purchase a licence for £8.78 /month including VAT for the next year. As I explained in a previous post, this represents a potentially good deal. However it is a special price that will only last a year, after which we can only assume that the price will be close to the Photoshop CC licence of £17.58 inc. VAT.

Initially I don’t expect to see a huge advantage from the software point of view: I might get updates more quickly, but it’s only after 12-18 months that I’m likely to see significant advantage as Adobe moves more functionality and support to their Creative Cloud offerings. The immediate benefit to me will be the Cloud storage and web site creation. So normally I wouldn’t rush to adopt this new service but I am intensely curious about Adobe’s move – for those who use Adobe’s software professionally the cost may well be justified but what about us amateurs? Will it be worth it not just now but into the future? Just for once, I’m going to be an early adopter of this service and document my experiences here.

Step 1: sign in with your Adobe ID

If you don’t have one already, it’s an easy matter to create one. But if you don’t have one you might get problems since I’m not sure how else Adobe will have your ownership of Photoshop recorded in their system. Yes that’s right, Adobe checks its records (step 2) to make sure you are entitled to the special offer.

Step 3: accept T&C

Accept the terms and conditionsThe T&Cs are straight forward and if you are happy, proceed to payment.

Step 4: Visa or Mastercard only (too bad on you PayPal addicts!)adobe-03After you’ve spent a minute or two in Adobe’s waiting area you are directed to download the software

adobe-04While doing this you can salivate at the new features in Photoshop

adobe-05

Creative Cloud installation

I already have the Creative Cloud software installed on my PC so my browser only had to confirm that I wanted to use this application for the download and installation. If you don’t have Creative Cloud installed, this may be an additional step for you.

adobe-06Photoshop is a sizable program so it will take a while but Creative Cloud shows you progress

adobe-07I’m on a moderately fast home broadband and it took just over 20 minutes to download. So it’s back the the waiting area, a coffee, and a browse through the Photoshop CC features. Here’s and interesting one: in the Filter | Sharpen menu there is a new filter for Shake Reduction. That’s not in the latest update to Ps CS6! And Camera RAW is available as a filter so if you like using the controls in CR just apply them as a filter to your image – not essential, but neat!

Starting Photoshop CC

Let’s check the download/install went as smoothly as it seemed and start the program. There’s no desktop shortcut so off to the Start menu. There’s a 32-bit and 64-bit version. A couple of right-clicks on the 64-bit version and I have a shortcut. The 64-bit version fires up and asks if I want to migrate my presets from CS6 to CC. Answer yes. Photoshop looks the same as ever but a quick look through the drop-down menus shows a few extra items. At the bottom of the Edit menu there are options to manage my CC subscription

additional meu items in Ps CCAnd on the File menu there is an option to Share on Behance.

Lightroom

To install Lightroom I have to go back to the Creative Cloud application, click the Install button next to Lightroom to start the download/installation of this software. This only takes about 12 minutes. In fact, there isn’t a Creative Cloud version of Lightroom, all I’ve done is download and install the same piece of software I had as a stand-alone application, though this time Creative Cloud is aware of it and, presumably, will keep it up to dateLightroom installation under Creative CloudMy desktop shortcut works but Lightroom wants me to register , despite having done so when I originally installed the software. It also defaults to use my stand-alone serial number, so what would happen if I were installing it for the first time as part of the Creative Cloud subscription, I don’t know. Oh well, it works for me. so I’ll leave it as it is. It seems that Lightroom is bundled as part of the subscription but without any additional features, not even the integration of Adobe ID in the menus.

Creative Cloud storage and Behance

These are both services rather than desktop applications, so investigating them will be part of a follow-on blog post.

So far, then, a fairly painless process! I wonder if it will continue that way?!

Leave a Reply

