Adobe’s Creative Cloud Photography Program

Adobe Photography Program dealAdobe has responded to concerns from the photography community over its policy of moving to Cloud-based applications and licencing these in suites or expensive single apps. For most photographers a suite of professional Adobe apps would lie unused; what we need is some combination of Lightroom and Photoshop. Well, Adobe’s response is the Photography Program.

Since I  already have a licence for Photoshop I can migrate to this Cloud offering for £7.14 per month plus VAT. That’s £8.57 at 20% tax.

What will I get? I’ll have Photoshop and Lightroom installed on my PC and continually upgraded with the latest features and bug-fixes. I can use them stand-alone but I’ll need to connect to the Internet at least once a month to renew the licence (shouldn’t be a problem). I’ll also get some Cloud storage (could be useful) and a Behance Pro subscription. Behance is a template-based Web site builder and publisher, which has the potential to replace my existing Web site host using my existing URL.

What I don’t know is whether the Photography Program licence will cover both my desktop and laptop computers or whether I’ll need 2 licences, but let’s assume 1 licence will cover me, so what are the costs?

At the moment I pay £5.80 /month for Web hosting. Upgrading Photoshop and Lightroom costs me about £8 /month (that’s £200 every couple of years), i.e. a total of £13.80 /month. I should be able to replace these costs with a Photography Program subscription of £8.57. Sounds good economically!

But what happens if I decide to stop my subscription? In a month my licence will expire and I won’t be able to use the applications. I can always revert back to my stand-alone licences, but in a few years time they will be out of date and unsupported. My files will be on my local computer so I won’t lose them but I will lose the synced versions in the Cloud. I know from my use of other Cloud services such as Google Drive that having Internet access to some files is very useful at times, so I might find myself coming to rely on this service.

Alternatives: my use of Photoshop has diminished due to the functionality in Lightroom but I still use it for individual images where masking and layering is needed, so could I find an alternative? There are several candidates but could I cope with the evaluation and learning-curve process? Preferably not! There is an excellent alternative to Lightroom: Capture One Pro, but I have to either keep Lightroom for my past catalogue of work or find a way of migrating every image to C1 – not an inviting prospect without mature migration tools. And I’d rather be doing photography than fussing with the technology.

Another unknown is whether I can get enough functionality from Behance to replace my existing site, or will I need to continue to run a stand-alone site? If so I will need another URL at additional cost so why bother with Behance? Maintaining my existing site makes the economics unfavorable and I’d quite like an easier-to-maintain site anyway. I will only know the answer to this one by trying it.

So Adobe’s Photography Program is looking enticing. I shall investigate further by taking out a subscription when it becomes available and report on progress, warts an’ all, on this blog over the next few months. (Deep breath…)

2 responses to “Adobe’s Creative Cloud Photography Program

  1. Hey Malc, I’m looking at moving to this options (I have CS6 currently) and wondered if you have gone ahead and how you’ve found things.

    To be honest I can’t see too many alternatives anyway and I would like some of the new tools in CC.

    Thanks for taking time to get back to me (hopefully).

    Mark

    • Mark, I’d recommend CC. It makes economic and technological sense. Also Adobe has just notified me that my annual subscription is due and the price is going down! (By about 25p per month but at least they didn’t break trust and hike the price!)

Leave a Reply

