14 responses to “Customising Adobe Lightroom metadata field names

  1. Best article I’ve read in months regarding lightroom – thank you!

    • Thank you so much! Do you happen to know how to create a drop down type field, I believe they call it an “enum” field? Excuse me if I’m not making any sense. I am brand new to Lightroom and trying to customize the metadata.

      • Alesha,
        I’m pleased you found it useful! To go beyond the simple scripting I’ve described in my blog will mean getting into Lua, the programming language used in Lightroom. My guess is that Lua will allow you to add drop-down fields, but that is just a guess! I haven’t got into Lua as I’d rather be out taking photos! If you are interesting in programming in Lua, try http://www.lua.org/

  2. Thanks for this article. Its awesome!

    I’ve been customising panels everywhere now – very useful.

    I’m very interested in being able to create panels that include drop down lists such as the one in the default “EXIF and IPTC” panel called “Copyright Status” – it has a drop down with 3 options ‘Copyrighted’, ‘Public Domain’ and ‘Unknown’.

    Would you happen to know how they are created?

    B

    • Benjamin,

      I’m afraid you’ve reached the known limits of what can be achieved with this scripting approach. I’m not aware of the ability to change the built-in copyright defaults, add drop-down lists or even add missing fields (like GPS Direction). It may be possible to do this via a plugin but that involves programming, which I don’t want to get involved in.

      You could try one or two of the plugin hackers such as those at the Photographers Toolbox http://www.photographers-toolbox.com/

      Sorry I can’t be more help.

      Malcolm

  3. Your list was a great help as I too have had difficulty find out what adobe has called it’s fields. I can add userComment to this list.

    The field names are case sensitive, and one thing that does seem to be common is, if the field name consists of more than one word, the first letter of the first word is lower-case, but the first letter of all the other words is upper-case. Why it is this way, I haven’t the foggiest, but it has helped me locate a few other fields.

  4. Will – thanks for the addition of userComment to the list. I’ll amend my list above in case readers don’t look at this comment. Yes, it’s worth emphasizing that the field names are case sensitive and Adobe use camel-case, which is common in computer scripting (it makes names more readable when words are concatenated).

    If you have identified any more fields I’d be happy to add them too – I’m sure this will help the community.

    Malcolm

  5. has the location for the .lrtemplate changed in lightroom 5? I followed your instructions- and havent even changed the code you present- but its not appearing in the drop down list… ; ( any thoughts?
    best
    Raphael

    • LR5 is just the same. You need to restart LR to re-read the folder. Does this make it appear?

      • Hi Malcolm, I was wondering about this same thing – I am using the latest version of Lightroom (CC), and when I followed your instructions without changing your script, I was unable to get the settings to appear in the dropdown list. This did not change after restarting Lightroom. Has the location I need to put the script into changed in newer versions of the software? Are you still implementing custom labels in this way?

      • Nat, the method of relabelling fields hasn’t changed through to the latest release. I’m using LR CC too and my metadata field list are still working.

  6. Outstanding post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Cheers!

  7. Sean Needham

    Nice article Malcolm, very useful to something I’m working on.

    Quickest way I’ve found to get all the usable field names is create a new meta-data preset, fill each field (doesn’t matter what) then save it as a new preset, find the preset under the [path]/Lightroom/Metadata Presets and then drag it in to a text editor.

Leave a Reply

